Adoption

Introducing myself

Hi everyone. ?This is my first time on this particular board, but I am a regular on the NH Nest, and used to be on the TTTC and TTC 6+ month board.

I found out during week 14 of my pregnancy that I had severe systemic lupus and had stage 4 kidney failure, as well as fluid around my lungs and heart. ?I was advised to terminate the pregnancy, but I had tried for so long (21 cycles) that our baby was a miracle I wasn't going to easily part with. ?

After 3.5 more weeks of struggling with lesser medications that would be safe for her, we found out on Wednesday that she wasn't getting enough blodd and was 3.5 weeks to small - so no growth since the week I found out about the lupus. ?My kidneys are totally leaking blood, so it was a worry they had, but they thought she'd just grow slower. ?She was growing totally irregularly. ?For instance her femur was at 14 weeks, but other parts of her were at 13 weeks, her heart was functioning, but struggling, and her head was too small too. ?

In addition, the lupus meds triggered life threatening blood pressure levels for me, so I had a D&E yesterday. ?Physically, all went well - but we are devastated. ?The doctors have advised us not to ever get pregnant again, since the flareup was so acute during the pregnancy. ?Our biological TTCing is over, but we want to look into adoption. ?I don't know the first thing to even ask.

I have heard that you are all very supportive - and knowledgeable - so here I am. ?I am sure I'll have a zillion questions, so if you have a FAQ post, please let me know.

Hugs to all of you -

Kristin?

Re: Introducing myself

• Oh.... I'm so sorry for you loss.

I'm at the beginning of the adoption journey, myself.

Good Luck!

• I'm so sorry to hear of your situation.  My sympathies.