Health & Exercise
Options

Belly fat/c-section question...

Hi, All,

I have what might be a silly question. People talk about your body "holding on to" belly fat after pregnancy and especially after a c-section. Technically, though, if you lift weights to build muscle, do cardio and burn calories that way, shouldn't you lose fat everywhere, even if it's hardest to get it off your tummy?

I've been running fairly regularly since my LO turned four months old. (Before that, I was taking walks while babywearing and doing yoga.) And I've been watching my diet, working on high protein, low carb, etc.

I just keep hearing from people of the "that's just the way it is after you have kids" line of thought, but I don't want to get discouraged. I do feel like everything is toning up *much* faster than my stomach, though. I'm really afraid of getting back to my pre-pg weight and still having "jelly belly."

What has your experience been?

MacAndCheese
Mac and cheese lover!
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Belly fat/c-section question...

• Options
    I was below my pp weight after my c-section and in ridiculous shape -- I was stronger and faster (at running) then I'd ever been in my life.  Everything was super toned and strong, BUT I still had the weird c-section indent where from a profile view I still had a littler pucker.  It had improved from the "over-hang" I initially had, but I still had an ugly gross indent.  You can only see it when I'm naked though, so I suppose that's the upside.  I honestly think I would look 100% if I had delivered vaginally -- the only thing that looked different was my weird surgical indent.  Kind of sucks.  So, you will tone up, but things might not ever look exactly the same.  
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options

imageJG362009: