Special Needs
Options

Mamas of ASD children

Hi, all

This is my first time posting on this board, so please understand if I make a mistake/faux pas here or there. I just had my first, a boy, on 8/8. He was born at 35w3d, so he's a little over 6 weeks adjusted right now.

He's never really given us eye contact. He'll stare at us while we feed him pretty much every time, but that's it. When we hold him, he just looks around everywhere and no amount of high-pitched baby talk can make him look at us for more than 2 or 3 seconds.

He smiles now, but not in response to the smile of an adult. He hasn't done that yet. It's only when he's being played with that he'll grin and, even then, it's off to the side and not making eye contact. He's fussy very often, which makes me think he may have reflux, but I'm not sure if that's just something I'm telling myself to make excuses for him not being smiley or social.

I know, it probably makes me sound like a crazy FTM for expecting so much so early, but it's really unsettling to see babies younger than him (even taking adjusted age into consideration) hitting these milestones that he isn't.

I know that most health professionals won't diagnose ASD until 2 years, but did any of you ladies notice signs/symptoms/red flags earlier than that? Even in infancy?

Again, sorry if I sound crazy. I'm running on very little sleep and when everyone we come in contact with asks why he doesn't smile/look at people/etc., it makes me feel like my fears are being validated. :(

Thanks in advance. 

Re: Mamas of ASD children

• Options