1st Trimester
Options

How often are you suppose to schedule doctors appointments?

Hello Everyone,

I'm new at this mommy thing!  I have gone to my first doctors appointment and they sent me to get all the tests done for birth defects and so on.  Well that was at my 6 week mark. I'm now going on 10 weeks and haven't heard from the doctor. Should I be concerned?  Should I schedule my next appointment?  The women at the desk told me I wouldn't have to but I don't want to miss out on something that I should be doing.

Need help from experienced mommies! 

Re: How often are you suppose to schedule doctors appointments?

• Options
    You'll go once every 4 weeks until about 28 weeks or so.  At that point you'll start going every two weeks.  Once you hit 36 weeks you'll start going every week.  Every office is a bit different, but that's a pretty standard guideline.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
    Lilypie Pregnancy tickers

Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding.
    In all your ways acknowledge Him,and He shall direct your paths.
    Proverbs 3:5-6

• Options

Just curious, what tests did they do for birth defects at 6 weeks?  Do you just mean they drew blood to check antibodies, blood type, etc. and also to see if you're a carrier for genetic diseases? 

Do you have any future appointments scheduled?  If not, I would call to find out when they want to see you next.  Most people don't go in much in the first tri but they usually know when their next appointment is.  Maybe someone was supposed to call you and forgot.  You should also call now if you want the NT scan because it needs to be done between 11 weeks and 13 weeks 6 days.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

med-free birth x2, breastfeeding, baby wearing SAHM
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    My BFP Chart

• Loading the player...
  • Options