School-Aged Children
Options

k12 online learning

Has anyone done homeschooling through this program? Thoughts? I have only heard one review from a lady that I know who loves this program but was curious what others thought of it or had experience with it.
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: k12 online learning

• Options

I'm sure it's fine, but personally, their commercials irk me. I'm a teacher, and I pride myself on getting to know each of my students and their strengths and weaknesses and spend copious amounts of time planning lessons, interventions and other activities to move each and every child as far as I possibly can.

So for their commercials to insinuate that a teacher over the internet is going to know their kid better... well, that teacher over the internet can't give a kid a hug when it's the anniversary of his mother's death, can't place a supportive hand on a shoulder when a concept is tough and that point of frustration is being reached.

I think web-based curriculums have their place, but to imply that ALL traditional school teachers are crap and don't know their students really turns me off to their organization. There are other online schools who advertise without the need to do this- if online schooling better met my son's needs than traditional, I'd go to one of them sooner than I would K-12. Just my $.02.

• Options
    I have also heard good things about it, but have not researched it myself.  I chose to use various publishers for our homeschool curriculum.  I'd rather pick and choose what I think will work best for DS. 
  • Loading the player...
  • Options