March 2012 Moms
Options

Any Natural Birth Ladies?

I posted this on the natural birth board too but wanted to see if any of you ladies on my home board are in similar situations or if your a second time natural birth mommy if you have any advice.  Thanks!

I want to have a natural birth.  I have always wanted this.  I mean I knew that when the time came this is what I wanted before I even met my husband and all of that.  My mom went natural with both me and my brother and I've always known that's what I want.  Now that we are expecting our first I still want this and changed from Tri-Care Prime to Tri-Care Standard specifically so I can have a CNM and use a birthing center as opposed to taking my chances and hoping the Army doc on call that day is supportive of natural birth.

Now, I'm a nurse and I have worked NICU, Postpartum, and a helped a little in L&D here and there.  So I understand more than the average person that there can be crazy circumstances that can make a natural birth unrealistic for some people.  So far I am a very low risk pregnancy and I plan on doing all I can to stay that way.

So, now that we have started telling a few people we are pregnant all I keep hearing is how great the epidural is and how much I will love pain meds.  I try to explain that we are planning a natural delivery and don't plan on using any of those things.  These women all say I'm crazy and don't know what I'm talking about.  On the one hand I have never been through birth before like these women have, on the other hand I know my body and my pain tolerance and what my body in capable of.  So, how do you respond to these people with out them just thinking you're ignorant and you'll change your mind when labor comes?  So far I've just kinda let people think that I plan to keep my options open just in case.  That's not really true but it's easier than arguing.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic Daisypath Anniversary tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers