Babies: 0 - 3 Months
Options

My 3 week old has not had a stool in over 24 hours,

She is eating and peeing like normal.  I've noticed they have gotten less frequent with time but to go more than 24 hours seems really long.

I've googled it and gotten mixed reviews.  I saw one place that said it's perfectly normal for a BF baby to go days without a stool.  Then I see on another site that some people put syrup in their milk to help them.  However, this seems to be controversial as some say there is a risk of botulism. 

ETA: I am noy planning on adding anything to my milk.  Just sharing what I found.

I put in a call to the pediatrician, but I am still waiting to hear from them.

What do you ladies know?  Is this normal?  How often does your BF baby have a stool?

Re: My 3 week old has not had a stool in over 24 hours,

• Options
    I'm no doctor, but if your LO is EBF, I wouldn't worry about it. My daughter has gone 2 days without a poop and was fine. Her diaper on the third day was ridiculous tho! I think as long as she is eating and having regular amount of wet diapers she should be fine. I wouldn't give my LO anything except breast milk without talking to her doctor. You can always give them a call if you're worried! 
  • Options
    My LO has a bm every day to every other day.
    Anniversary

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

BabyFruit Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options