August 2011 Moms
Options

Can someone help me with the math here? RE: Formula

OK, so I used to be an analyst for a fortune 300 so I am laughing at myself that I cannot get this straight. Any help is majorly appreciated.

I  always heard that liquid formula cost more than powder. That being said, if I go on to amazon and price formula options, powder is far more than liquid. Even if I multiply the powder cost per ounce by 2 since 1 scoop is an ounce and 1 scoop = 2 ounces of liquid, it still comes out to be far less to buy liquid. Please see the examples below.

https://www.amazon.com/Similac-Advance-Shield-Formula-32-Fluid/dp/B001E5116C/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1309456797&sr=8-2

vs

https://www.amazon.com/Similac-Advance-Shield-Formula-23-2-Ounces/dp/B001E534MG/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1309456823&sr=8-5

****Also, on a side note, today is the last day to buy Earths Best Organic formula at a deep discount. 4 cans are normally $99. take 15% off if you subscribe ( I subscribed to have a new 4 pack sent to me in 6 months in case my lo doesnt take to Earths Best) and an additional 15% off coupon. See the link. 4 cans = $69 shipped.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=tsm_1_fb_s_mom_lngyjt?ie=UTF8&docId=1000681001

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Can someone help me with the math here? RE: Formula

• Options
    I'm not good with math, but when DD was on formula, I read on the back of the Similac containers and it will tell you how many bottles one container will make. (I think it goes by 6 oz bottles) But when I figured it out it was cheaper to do the powder. DD didn't care much for the liquid. Not sure why but it is a different color than the powder.
    Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers Lilypie Second Birthday tickers BabyFruit Ticker
  • Options