Pre-School and Daycare
Options

Newbie here! Can you help me please?!

Josie will be three next month and is registered to start preschool in the fall. I am so nervous and excited at the same time! So, here are my questions!

What questions did you ask when you met your LO's teachers? Right now I want to know how tantrums are dealt with, how they discipline behavioral issues, what they feed for snack, and what they expect her to know coming in, that is all I have! What else should I ask?

Do I start with half day or just go with full day? She would be there 3 days a week, either 8-11:30 or 8-2:30. I SAH, so this is all new to us.

Any advice for this -- She had been peeing in the potty since November, so over 7 months, but refuses to poop on the toilet. Pretty sure she has to be fully pt'd to go to school. I have 2 months to fix this. Any ideas? I have tried telling her we are out of pull ups, every form of bribery, and even let her pick her prize out at the store for going. 

Anything else I should know?!

Josie Cailin 7/25/08 Asher Mason 7/19/10

Re: Newbie here! Can you help me please?!

• Options
    The only thing I really asked about was the basic structure of the day and what types of things they would cover.  We're doing a half day, 5 days a week.  It's kind of up to you, though.  If you thought you wanted to find a part time job locally on those days, full day would make that more possible.  I don't think it matters too much in terms of what your DD will get out of it.  Regarding potty training, I have a feeling poop will not be an issue.  Kids will tend to hold that until they are comfortable at home.  She's not likely to poop in her pants with other kids around.  But I would definitely just take away the pull ups.  Actually, why not just have her go bare bottomed around the house for the summer, even at bedtime?  That way her choices are poop in the potty or on the floor/in bed (just keep fingers crossed she decides against the floor).