Food Allergy
Options

Refusing Alimentum...

My LOs will not take the alimentum formula :-(  They are currently BF, but I am no longer producing enough to keep up with their demand.  I have a huge freezer stash, so I am okay for now, but I am worried about finding something they will eat for when that is out.  I tried just a few ounces of alimentum twice and it was a huge fail.  Did this happen with any of your LOs?  If so, what did you try next?

PS - we are pretty sure they have a milk allergy.

Re: Refusing Alimentum...

• Options
    my daughter refused it at first, only taking in about an ounce every feeding. she would make a horrible face and spit it out. it took a few days but she got used to it. We are using nutramigen now and she takes it fine too now, but now she's spitting up ALL the time, even with zantac. :(
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    We have the same issue. I can not get DS to drink the powdered Alimentum mixed with BM but he will drink the ready to feed without any problems. My next plan is to mix a bottle made from the powder with the ready to feed. Good luck!
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker image image
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    vlahopvlahop member

imageAtlmom82:
    We have the same issue. I can not get DS to drink the powdered Alimentum mixed with BM but he will drink the ready to feed without any problems. My next plan is to mix a bottle made from the powder with the ready to feed. Good luck!

That is interesting... I could try that.  That will be so expensive too Sad

• Options

my doctor told me that my child will not starve himself. He might not like it at first but when they have no other choice, they will drink it.