Working Moms
Options

Any physical therapy assistants?

If you are a physical therapy assistant how much school or training do you have?  What are your hours like?  What is the pay like?  I have been a teacher for eight years and getting burned out.  I always considered physical therapy but decided on teaching instead.  Now I am wondering if I made the right choice.

Re: Any physical therapy assistants?

• Options
    I'm not a PT assistant but I work closely with a bunch of them as an Occupational Therapist. I believe it takes 2 years to get an associates degree. To get an idea as to how much PTAs make, check salary.com as it varies greatly as to what area and job setting. Therapists may choose to work in hospitals, school system, skilled nursing, home health or out-patient clinics. I work in skilled nursing and here in FL, new grads make upwards of $25/hr. Home health pays the highest. As for hours, it also depends on your job setting. Skilled nursing and home health tend to be more flexible. Where I work, I can come in as early as 6am and leave after 8 hours, or I can come in late. GL'
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options