Alabama Babies

Looking for an OB/GYN

Hi I'm new to Al and close to the Dothan Enterprise area.  Does anyone have any Dr recommendations?  My other babies were born in AZ so I'm super nervous about finding a new dr.  I had a c-section with  my other two so if anyone has any helpful information it would be very much appreciated!  

Thank you! 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Looking for an OB/GYN

• Hi, I am in Dothan. My OB is Dr. Patel at Women's Medical Center at SAMC. He's great- I definitely recommend him! Welcome to AL and the board!
  • Thanks! Surprisingly I only know a few pregnant women on post! lol I'll def check him out and make sure he takes my insurance! Can I ask why you like him?  My Dr in Az is amazing and I've sent all my friends to him!  His bedside manner is great!  He makes you and your baby feel cared for.  And it doesnt matter how busy he is he'll answer your questions.  I want someone who has those qualities too!
  • Loading the player...
  • Hey!  Welcome to the area!  I'm in Dothan as well and used the same practice as the PP (Hey Heather!) but a different doctor, Dr. Jonathon Scott. 

I absolutely loved him and have nothing but great things to say about him.  I also ended up with a c section but I labored for almost a full day and he was constantly checking up on me and promised to stick around for me regardless of my decision (to continue laboring or go for the c/s).  He has a great bedside manner and was always very thorough and informative at my appointments.  He even gave me his cell phone number to call him if I had any questions before or after the birth and he personally called to check up on me after I was discharged. 

He's in his early thirties but that never made me feel weird.  He has three sons and talks about them and his wife all the time. 

Good luck!