Breastfeeding
Options

Do pain meds during labor make BF difficult for baby?

I've heard that if I need an epidural or other pain meds during labor, it can make the baby groggy and thus reduce their ability to latch on or begin breastfeeding right away....which can then make it difficult to start at all.

Has this been the case with anyone? Since I'm new to pregnancy I don't know what "facts" in the books to believe. Some say pain meds make everything more difficult, and some say there is no evidence of that. I guess I'm looking for real life examples. :)

TIA! 

IAmPregnant Ticker

Re: Do pain meds during labor make BF difficult for baby?

• Options

It can, and I have met mothers whose babies where 'groggy' after birth, most of them breastfed fine.

Breastfeeding can be easy for some mommas, and more difficult for others. It all depends on how you react, and how your baby react. No one can tell you exactly how it will happen. The best thing is to prepare, if you plan to get medicated know all the side effects and make it a choice YOU make not others for you, educate yourself on all the possibilities. 

https://www.bestforbabes.com/

https://milkforbaby.blogspot.com/

Little Rose is 2 1/2.
  • Options

IMO, there is no way to know for sure because there are so many factors involved.  You can't have the same woman give birth to the same baby twice, once with and once without epi...so there is no way to be sure.