Working Moms
Options

Please tell me what you think.......

I'm a paralegal for a small (2 attys and me) firm.  I haven't received a raise in 2 years (after only receiving one) and have no benefits other than 2 wks vacation (no ins, no 401k, no sick days/personal days).  Well, I should say that they allow me to only work 4 days a week so that I can be with my daughter which I greatly appreciate.  I love my bosses, they are the sweetest people you could ever work for, but I feel underappreciated.  I'm not very assertive when it comes to talking about salary, etc.  I know they are happy with my work b/c they tell me all of the time.  I'm SO frustrated about the raise situation...is this normal for a small company to not even give a cost of living raise?  I don't want to leave b/c I like my work and I like my situation w/ having a day with my little gilr.

Re: Please tell me what you think.......

• Options
    They should be giving you annual raise at least the rate of inflation.  I would approach them nicely.   Do you have a review annually?
  • Options
    I have worked for small companies and I have worked for large companies and I can tell you that as far as small companies go, they feel that they can do whatever they want (whereas large companies try to maintain the "industry standard" when it comes to benefits, employees, etc.). It's not uncommon to not get raises in small companies (happened to me), on the other hand, it is not uncommon for someone to get a 15% raise (happened to me as well) because there is no set protocol.

You do have a right, however, to be unhappy about the situation. You should talk to them about this or try looking for another job.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options