January 2011 Moms
Options

Teacher Dilemma - WWYD?

I am an elementary school teacher and our winter break is over on Monday.  I'm due on Thursday, but so far I've had no progress and am assuming that my little dude will be joining us later rather than sooner.  I had planned on just staying home and using my sick days until maternity leave kicks in, but I'm wondering if that's still a good idea since nothing seems to be happening down there.  I have PLENTY of sick days, I could stay home all year if I really wanted to, so that's not an issue.  I guess I'm concerned that I'll be too bored or if he's super late then that's just a lot of sitting around.  I wouldn't be induced until 42 weeks.  If it came to that, it would be an extra 3 weeks of sitting around at home!

So if you're a teacher, or if you're not and just have an opinion - what would you do?

Re: Teacher Dilemma - WWYD?

• Options

I worked up until my water broke with DS and plan to work until I pop with this one too.  They both were/are due close to winter break, so it's been nice having some down time, but I want to save my days for when the LO is actually here.

Kudos you get the rest of the year off....I just get until April.

Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Options
    Stay home!  I am a teacher and I've been off since 36 weeks.  Sounds like we have different experiences at work though.  I get so exhausted and cranky with my middle schoolers!  Also, I can always find stuff around the house to do so I don't get bored I love it!
  • Loading the player...
  • Options