Minnesota Babies
Options

Any thoughts on United Hospital?

My doctor is at the Allina Medical Clinic in Woodbury and says that they do all deliveries at the United Hospital in St. Paul, but I haven't heard much about the birthing center there... Just looking for some feedback! Thank you =)

Re: Any thoughts on United Hospital?

• Options
    I work in healthcare in the metro and I've heard really good things about United. They are one of the biggest maternity wards in the metro and it can get a bit busy there but I think if I lived in the cities I would go there or to St. Joes. United is connected to Childrens hosp. It has a phenomenal NICU should the need arise. I used to do medical transports for them. The company I worked for would pick up a team of nurses and docs from there and fly or drive out to smaller hospitals and pick up sick babies and moms and bring them back to United/Childrens for advanced care. The hosp that I am delivering at is an Allina hosp and they work with United and Childrens if things become to complex for my smaller hospital. 

It would give me a lot of comfort to deliver there because they have top of the line physicians and pediatricians if anything were to go wrong. I know that they would be able to take care of just about anything. 

I don't know any specifics about the birth center but I bet if you looked at the hospital website it would tell you what the hospital does and does not offer in terms of birthing options. HTH 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options

I have never been in the birth center at United, but I was hospitalized there once for kidney pain and my nurses were absolutely awful. Not just rude but incompetent. I don't know how the maternity nurses are. I just know that the ones I dealt with almost killed me because they forgot to put an oxygen monitor on me when I was getting morphine. So that was my only experience with United.