Babies: 9 - 12 Months
Options

SAHM or Working Mom...what did you do?

DH and I are currently trying to decide if we should start trying to conceive (we had a MC about 1 1/2 mo ago) again. 

If we begin trying now, it would make most sense for me to be a SAHM for atleast the first year (I am a teacher but I do not currently have a permanent position because we just relocated here for DH's job).  If we wait, it would only be so that I could try to find a teaching position for next school year and get settled there before having to take maternity leave. 

So, I was curious...how many of you became Stay At Home Moms after your first baby?

[Poll]

Re: SAHM or Working Mom...what did you do?

• Options

Just FYI, I'm a teacher and I know that if it had been my first year in my district that my job would not have been covered by FMLA. Meaning, I probably would have lost my job or had to return within two weeks of having my baby because my job wouldn't be protected by FMLA. Since I've been working for my school district for more than 12 months, my job was protected during my 8 week maternity leave.

Does that make sense?

Ok, here's a different way to put the issue. If it had been my first year teaching in my district then the district would not have had to legally hold my position for me during my maternity leave.

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
  • Options
    Yes, that definitely makes sense!  I am aware that if we wait, we could have to wait a full year (most likely) before I could get maternity leave...that is why this is such a tough predicament! 
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I became a SAHM because my job wasn't covered by FMLA, and they decided not to offer maternity leave. I couldn't have put DD in daycare even if I wanted to when she was a week old, so I became a SAHM. It was really scary financially, but we've been able to make it work so far...
  • Options