New Jersey Babies

Childbirth classes

Has anyone taken the childbirth classes offered at Riverview medical center? I am delivering there and Im not sure if it would be worth it to take the childbirth class there because its not cheap.
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Childbirth classes

• Hi.... I am new to N.J. but I did child birth classes with my husband with a woman named Theresa Fischer.  (maybe Fisher)  She is associated with Hackettstown midwives and honestly her classes were really, really good.  My head is so in a cloud these days and I cannot remember how much she charged but trust me when I say that I know it was reasonable.  Her cost also included a copy of Ina May's Guide to Childbirth.  In addition to cost- she was very down to earth and super informative.  Our classes were on Sunday evenings which may not be a good time for everyone but were good for us.  We could both attend without it interfering with our work schedules and there were 5 approx. 2 hour classes.  I really highly recommend her.

Good luck with your decision. Smile

• How much is Riverview charging?  I delivered both of my children there and will also have my third there in the spring.  We took the class before the first was born.  I don't recall what it cost but it was 6 years ago.  Hackettstown is pretty far and would, IMO, cost you as much in time, tolls and gas as just taking where you plan to deliver.  I will probably take a refresher class as I didn't take one for my second and I am probably 'rusty'.  Having some literal things to do/focus on while in labor could be very helpful or calming, especially for a first time mom.  I can't imagine doing it without some class, but plenty of moms do.  If money is a true issue, you may be able to get a discount if you work with the hospital, have you looked into that option?  At the very least you can arrange for a labor and delivery tour (prepare some questions ahead and get the most bang out of your free tour). 

Best of luck.