Natural Birth
Options

Should I get the Flu/H1NI vaccine this year? (sorta long)

Hello,

I searched this board to see if this topic has already been discussed, but I came back with no results! Ok, here goes:

I am 32w4d and am trying to figure out if I should get the combo flu/H1N1 shot tomorrow. I have not been sick once with this pregnancy and even before I was pg got sick rarely (maybe once a year, once every other year). I am 30yrs old, pg with first child and last year was the first year in my life that I get a flu shot, (b/c it was free) and although I never got sick from the vaccine, I felt like I had overmedicated myself for something I never worried about in the past!

The thing is, I will be flying this weekend from NC to MA, attending a wedding, then attending my baby shower (then flying back to NC). I also work as an academic advisor for adult students and therefore have a lot of contact with people on a daily basis. I am, however, vigilent about washing my hands with soap, using anit-bacteria gel and like to think I make smart choices about my health (eat well, exercise). I know that when you are pg you are slightly immunocompromised, and I'm just a little concerned that all the interactions I will have my students (plus the travel this weekend) might put me at a higher risk. Still, my gut says "no". Oh, and according to the pharmacuetical company that makes the vaccine I will get "it is preservative free, but with traces of Thimerosol- the preservative) My Midwife isn't even sure how you can be preservative free, yet have trace amounts of Thimerosol!

Opinions?

Thanks!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
image image

Re: Should I get the Flu/H1NI vaccine this year? (sorta long)

• Options
    Well, all I can say is I am getting it but I can't tell you if you should get it!  It's kind of a personal decision.
    My best friend, my husband, my everything
    Matthew Kevin
    7/31/83-7/20/11 image
    Met 1/8/00
    Engaged 4/21/06
    Married 9/29/07