Iowa Babies
Options

Natural Child Birth in Des Moines

Good morning!

I am pretty new to The Bump but really enjoy reading all of the questions/answers so I figured it was time to ask my own:)

I am currently a patient of Dr. T's and I really want to plan for a natural child birth at a hospital. I've heard so many stories about doctors pushing you to have the drugs and I am just wondeirng if you could share your story or offer any advice on how to plan for a natural birth at a hospital. Do I have to have a doula or midwife? Should I deliver at Mercy and stay with Dr.T or should I consider moving to Methodist and using their midwife services?

I am 16 weeks and have an appointment next month in which I plan to discuss these questions with the doctor but I just wanted to see if I could get some feedback here first:)

Thank you in advance for your advice and stories!!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Natural Child Birth in Des Moines

• Options
    Definitely look into your options.  We hired a doula and are so glad we did.  We also took Amy Brooks-Murphy's Bradley method class which is an amazing educational experience to arm you with knowledge and techniques to make natural birth a reality.  I wanted to go with a midwife but couldn't because of some risk factors but I definitely recommend going through the research and interviewing if you're interested.  Otherwise, know that you can deliver naturally with an OB at Mercy (that's what we'll be doing), it just requires preparation and knowledge on your part.  The doula is a great source of support as well as an excellent resource.  We feel that both our doula and the childbirth class have been well-worth-it investments.
  • Options