Illinois Babies
Options

Anyone live near UIC/South Loop?

We're moving to the city from the 'burbs soon and we were originally looking at rentals in Lincoln Park but didn't find anywhere we loved that was in our budget. We saw a place near UIC (not sure if that area is includeed in South Loop but it's close) that was really nice and in budget. Does anyone know anything about this area? Is it family-friendly? It seemed very nice, maybe a bit sketchy if you go too far south/west, but would love to hear from anyone who lives there or near there. The place we're interested in is a couple of blocks west of Halstead on 15th, if that makes a difference. TIA!

Re: Anyone live near UIC/South Loop?

• Options
    I've lived in this area for about 1 1/2 yrs. University Village itself is nice, but you do have to be cautious once you venture outside of it. I'm a professional student at UIC (on the west end of campus), so I get the crime alert updates, which tend to make me a bit paranoid. However the city is the city, and you'll have crime in any area. It is definitely more affordable than the loop and I always see families out and about (plus parking is never a problem). Are you renting or buying? We have a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom and will be moving soon, so PM if you'd like any additional info. Best of luck as you look for the perfect place!
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options

Thanks ladies. MomMD - we're renting. We found a place we like but if it doesn't work out I'll definitely PM you.

• Loading the player...
  • Options

imageMrsBNDO: