Success after IF

Sick toddler involuntarily "jerking"???

Jake's been sick with a fever now for the past 3 days.  Pedi said it's a virus and we're waiting it out to see if he gets more symptoms (roseola, coxsackie, etc.).  Well, for the last few hours or so he's been involuntarily "jerking" similar to if a loud noise scared him and he was startled.  Has anyone else's LO done this? I'm wondering if it's because he's sick and/or overtired or if this is some sort of red flag?  He's also SUPER SUPER cranky and irritable although no fever right now since he's on motrin/tylenol.  Any thoughts? Thanks!

Re: Sick toddler involuntarily "jerking"???

• Call your ped.  It may be a febrile seizure ...

ETA:  I'm not an expert or anything, and it may be nothing, but I think I would at least call. 

ETA:  I read your post again and it could be an earache.  One time right before DD had an ear infection I remember her jerking her head and we took her to the ped and no infection but it came in a couple of days.  Must have been pressure in her ear.  If he doesn't have a fever right now it's probably not a febrile seizure ...  Sorry Jake isn't feeling well.  : ( 

• this is one of the signs I get from DD that lets me know sickness is coming around the corner..we bedshare so I am very intune on her movements...its not something she does consistently but once in a while in her sleep she will have these jerky movements..

I'm praying Jake gets better soon..it breaks my heart when they are sick..no fun :(

• Loading the player...
  • imagecmw&tdm:

Call your ped.  It may be a febrile seizure ...

That's what I was thinking too.  Cal did this at one point when he had Roseola...strangely enough, it was not when his fever was at its highest. 

Childhood cancer (DH) + chemo + radiation = 0 sperm.
    LO #1 - 1 unmedicated/self-monitored IUI w/ donor sperm.
    LO #2 - 1 m/c, 2 BFNs, 4th IUI worked (unmedicated/self-monitored with new donor sperm).
    Life is beautiful!