Single Parents
Options

Ugh, need some advice

I'll call my attorney in the morning....but I need some advice now.

So ex sent me a text this morning saying he was planning on watching the girls when I go back to work next week (I'm a teacher). My mom has, for two years, come over to my house every day for free to do this. He barely manages to see them once or twice a month. I can't be late to work - I have students who rely on me to be in my room. Does he really think I can rely on him to watch the girls from 7:30-4? Our court order names me as primary custodian, and he has visitation Wednesday afternoon and EOW. It does say that if one of us needs a baby-sitter, the other parent will be the first person we ask. But I see this as child care, not baby-sitting. I'll be ok not to let the girls go with him, correct? 

Annnd, the reason he's now so ready to play daddy is because he QUIT HIS JOB to go back to school for the FIFTH time. Homeboy doesn't have 10 credit hours under his belt. He also said he won't be paying child support, or that it will be lower. I'm correct in thinking that if he voluntarily, or even was fired, stops working - he is still responsible for his set amount, right? 

Ugh, this is SO not what I needed now! 

imageimage

TheseFourButton-1.png

Re: Ugh, need some advice

• Options
    mrgnmrgn member
    I think I've heard before that if they quit, or are even fired, the CS is calculated based on their earning potential. So, on that, you're right. I have no idea if child care and babysitting will be any different........ I hope they are, for your sake. But part of me thinks that it probably is the same in the eyes of the law.
  • Options
    In MO the child support laws say if the person quits they are still liable to continue paying the full amount that was ordered.
    Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers Daisypath Wedding tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • Options