Adoption
Options

newbie here...help!

I normally post of the TTC board but yesterday I received a phone call from my mom telling me her cousin had called her asking if DH and I would want full custody of a 18 month old boy.

The child is in a relative's home now and they have until July 6th to decide if they want custody of him.  The relative that is keeping him now already has two kids of her own and 3 of her sister's kids.  My mom's cousin seems to think that she (the relative) feels, for lack of a better term, obligated to keep him. It's my understanding that the parents won't have the opportunity to get him back. If we did go through the process we would receive assistance from DSS.

Ok...so I obviously don't know a lot of the details about the situation. I guess the main thing that I need help with is trying to help my husband understand why I feel the need to go through with this.We have been TTC for a year with no such luck.  My DH and I haven't had the opportunity to discuss it but when I told him after I received the phone call he said we would talk about it and he wanted to keep TTC (and so do I).

I know you all can't tell me what to do...but I need some input here! I feel very "led" to go through with this and feel like opportunities like this doesn't happen very often.

TIA!! Smile

Re: newbie here...help!

• Options

I can totally understanding feeling led to go through with this.  DH and I were completely open to adoption before we found out we would have trouble TTC.  We want a family and while we are hoping to adopt, we also plan to continue TTC even to the IVF point if needed.   Have you and DH discussed adoption before?  If so, what was outcome? 

Obviously, first step is to talk to DH.  If he can't get on board, then I would absolutely not go through with it.   I know my DH is only open to young infant adoption where they are our child from the beginning.