High-Risk Pregnancy

Hello - & Anyone Else Obese?

Hey, I'm new to all of this. I'm a flood of emotions - so excited but also really nervous. My DH and I got a BFP yesterday!

My entire life I've been overweight. Then I went to college and grad school and packed on 120 lbs. 

I've always felt like my weight makes me different and maybe even a bit lesser of a person. All I've ever wanted is to be a mom but now, my excitement is overshadowed with a big sense of guilt or irresponsibility. I'm trying to be reasonable with the risk - obese women can have healthy babies and pregnancies.

Anyway, I'm looking for support and for any resources that are geared especially for pg obese women... any advice or resources are welcome.

Thanks!

PG#1 - 3rd cycle BFP. Team Green. HELLP syndrome @ 34 weeks.
Later diagnosed with Hashimoto's Thyroiditis, possible link to HELLP.

PG#2 M/C 3/14 - Surprise BFP 2/13. Beta's doubled every 52 hours from 3w5d-5w5d
Viable pregnancy scan at 5w5d; 2nd u/s showed 2 days of growth in 7 but a HB of 120
3rd u/s on 3/10/14 had no HB and baby had only grown 7 days over 14
D&C 3/17/14 - complications - DX Retroflexed uterus, multiple tears to cervix

All Welcome

Chart

Re: Hello - & Anyone Else Obese?

• Congrats on your BFP!

Welcome :)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • MrsAJLMrsAJL member

Welcome and congratulations on your BFP! 

First, let me say that overweight and obese women can and do have healthy pregnancies.  Let go of the guilt.   One can't change the past but you can definitely look towards the future and do the best you can for yourself and your baby.

Here is a website that I've seen that has quite a few resources and lots of information about being a "plus size" mom:  https://www.plus-size-pregnancy.org/firstindex.html

Good luck and a health and happy 9 months to you!

• Loading the player...
  • JillAlyJillAly member