Health & Exercise
Options

So I used to be fit...

I got pregnant right after my father passed away and around the holidays.  This all led to about a 10 lb. weight creep before the BFP, then I ate whatever I wanted and worked out very little first and second trimester. I'm a teacher, teach far away from where I work, and get home exhausted with more school work to do.  However, the summer is upon me and I'd like to try to get into a more consistent routine. 

I can't run anymore (after a failed attempt this weekend).  It is just too uncomfortable and my joints feel so loose.  I've started walking but I feel like it isn't enough.  I don't know where to start though because I've never been 20 lbs overweight with a baby to think about when starting a work out routine :)  

Any suggestions?  My husband is a crossfit trainer but his gym is near his work and I don't get to go there often to work out.  So I don't want to join a gym.  Any good DVDs?  How much walking should I do?  Is it possible to slim up the arm and leg area while pregnant?

Re: So I used to be fit...

• Options
    You could always try swimming.  That's good.  When I walk I put on headphones and walk for at least an hour.  I also have the Wii fit.  It's really easy so I don't have to worry about pushing myself too hard.  I also try to use regular workout dvd's.  Since I'm in my house I can make sure the temp is cool and I don't get overheated.   Not sure if legs and arms slim down while pregnant, I'm sure hoping so!
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options

When my husband and I bought our house, we invested in a good treadmill, so I may have an advantage you don't.  I apologize in advance for suggesting something that might not work for you.

Before I was pregnant, I would run 5 miles in about 45 minutes every morning during the week.  My husband freaked out when we found out I was expecting and pleaded with me to tone it down.