South Florida Babies

*~* TayLynn *~*

Hey there, I just saw your reply re. green tea advice from your acupuncturist.  I drink tons of green tea and also take supplements too!  aaah!   UGH!   Any more advice you can give us TTCers?  :)

Jason & Patricia 5/28/06

Re: *~* TayLynn *~*

• Ha!  I'm no expert.  :)  There's a lot of people here that can answer questions.  You TTCer's should ask away on the board.  It's not all about those that are already pregnant or have their babies already. 

I'm glad to help in any way that I can though!

Here's an article that references the green tea blocking folic acid/folate absorption.

Limit Green Tea Consumption During the First Trimester of Pregnancy

According to a study published in the March 2005 issue of Cancer Research, ECGC, a catechin present in green tea in amounts about 5 times higher than in black tea, inhibits the enzyme dihydrofolate reductase (DHFR), which cancer cells need to be able to grow, and which is a well recognized target of anti-cancer drugs.

Scientists decided to look at ECGC after they realized the green tea catechin looks a lot like the cancer drug methotrexate, which prevents cancer cells from making DNA by inhibiting the DHFR enzyme. They discovered that ECGC kills cancer cells in the same way as the drug.

Although ECGC binds strongly to DHFR, which is essential in both healthy and cancerous cells, it does not bind as tightly as methotrexate, so its side effects on healthy cells are less severe than those of the drug.

ECGC's binding to DHFR may also explain why women who drink large amounts of green tea around the time they conceive and early in their pregnancy may have an increased risk of having a child with spina bifida or other neural tube disorders.