Working Moms
Options

Tell me that I can do this....

DH and I are not TTC yet....but I just need some reassurance that I can be a successful working mom.

I'm a university professor - first year on the tenure track at a small school.  I'm 28 and I want to start TTCing within the next 6 months to a year.  I'm attempting to have a baby between May-July (to help minimize my time off), but we all know that these things can not really be planned.  My main issue is that I keep getting anxiety around the fact that I won't be able to juggle being a mom and my career. My department is very family friendly, but I can't shake this feeling that I won't be able to do right by my future child.

Any tips/comments to help ease my mind?

chart
BFP: 6.13.11 - EDD: 2.20.12 - Natural M/C: 6.22.11 at 5 weeks 3 days

imageimageimageimage

Re: Tell me that I can do this....

• Options

I went to Penn and Judith Rodin was the president at the time and once i went to hear her give a speech about women working and she said if she had to do it again she wouldn't wait until she had tenure to have a baby - she would have done it sooner.  

I am finishing law school now so I do have a good schedule in that I have off on Fridays, but I really like our daycare and I think DS likes going there and likes the other kids. I don't feel bad that he goes 4 days a week.

• Options
    I am a clinical psychologist so after 7 years of school and training, my career is really important to me. I just went back to work about a week ago and just starting to attempt balancing working and being mom. It takes one day at a time and I could never imagine my life without either my job or my baby! The best thing has been talking to other working moms and knowing you are not alone. So, yes, you can do it! Coming home to my beautiful baby is worth every minute of stress! Good luck.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options