Baby Showers
Options

Inviting Co-Workers

I'm a substitute teacher in a district that has 9 different schools. I mainly work in 1 school where I know a lot of the teachers. I've been working in this building for 3 years now.

A lot of these ladies have known about my pregnancy since the beginning and always ask how i'm feeling, how the baby is, wanting to see pictures and such. When I have the same lunch time as some ladies (5 of them), I always eat lunch with them in a classroom.

That being said, there could be 15-20 of these ladies that I could invite to my shower. My mother was just casually talking about the guest list and asked about co-workers of mine and who i'd like to invite.

These are just ladies I work with maybe 3 days a week, we don't do anything outside of work. The only thing that could be an exception is i'm friends with some of them on facebook.

So my question is, do I invite these ladies? Do I just get the invites off my mother and hand them out?

I don't know why I feel weird about inviting them to my shower. Maybe it's because i'm not really an employee of the school, I just tend to work there 99% of the time I substitute. So what should I do?

BFP#1 {Cashew} - 9.19.09 EDD 5.26.10
The day you first lay in my arms, you made my life complete.
Aurora Rose born sleeping at 35w on 4-21-10
BFP#2 {Almond} - 2.1.11 EDD 10.12.11 C/P 2.11.11

Re: Inviting Co-Workers

• Options

I vote no. 

Sounds like they are work aquaintences ... not friends. 

• Options

This one is hard but I also vote no based on your description of your relationship.  Chances are they might have a little "teacher's lounge" shower for you if they feel close to you.   Unless you really have a couple close friends, it is hard to draw the line on who you will invite (someone will always be left out.) 

• Loading the player...
  • Options