Parenting after 35
Options

s/o 12-24 topic: Spanking (in schools)

Spanking was the hot topic this morning and the subject of spanking in schools came up.  I am not asking if anyone is for it, but since we are older I am wondering if spanking was allowed at your school.

I remember hearing about "the paddle" that was in the principal's office at my school. If you went to the office, you were paddled.  I never tested this because I was painfully shy and never got in trouble, but it was readily accepted as a form of punishment.  I don't know if this is because it was the mid 70's or it was because I lived in the South.  When we moved I went to Catholic school and I know they had spanking there.

I am a teacher now and can't imagine being given permission to spank my student(nor do I want it), but it was the norm when I was growing up.  My parents didn't spank, but my friends' parents did and I never thought twice about it.

Did your school have corporal punishment?

Re: s/o 12-24 topic: Spanking (in schools)

• Options
    Not at the public or at the kids' daycare.  Don't know about some of the private schools.

DD -- 5YO
    DS -- 3YO

• Options

Wow. No, I'm actually surprised people our age were spanked at school. I thought that was eliminated after my mom and dad's generation left school.

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    No corporal punishment at our school.  I can't imagine it was done anywhere in my area--even in the mid 1970s when I started school.

Bronx Zoo: Summer 2013

To read my blog, click on the giraffe pic below!
  • Options
    At Bear Creek Middle School in Keller TX corporal punishment was alive and well in the 1980s.  Ask me how I know. Embarrassed
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options