Working Moms
Options

Please tell me it gets easier...

Yesterday was DD's first day at daycare.  DH dropped her off... I was crying as I put her in her carseat and bawled after they left.  I feel so anxious about her going (which I know every mom feels).  And when I went to pick her up, she was sitting in a bouncy seat and looked like she was zoned out. Then I went up to her and said, "Morgan!  Mommy's here!!" and her little face lit up with a big smile that melted my heart.  I was so overwhelmed that I cried the whole way home.  I just don't want her to be sitting there with no stimulation, zoning out all day.  That breaks my heart.  Not to mention they said she was having trouble with her feedings, but did better as the day went on.  Please tell me that it gets better...  I'm only working part-time (MWF) for now, which I'm thankful for, but I find myself dreading tomorrow already.  I feel like I want/need to work (I'm a pharmacist and really enjoy my job) but I'm torn.  Help!  I need some encouragement.

Re: Please tell me it gets easier...

• Options

Lots of hugs.  It does get easier - a little bit each day. With #1 I cried every day for at least a week (and it was only my mom that was watching her the first month back to work).

• Options

It does get easier...the first couple weeks back were the hardest...and I still have "those" days ever once in a while when I miss them like crazy or get a little teary on my ride in...but for the most part things are routine now and everyone has adjusted...good luck!  Maybe talk to your dcp about what activities they are doing with you lo during the day so you know she is being stimulated...I know my dds tend to zone out for their third quicky nap of the day right about the time I pick them up....good luck!

• Loading the player...
  • Options