Babies on the Brain
Options

Delivery at 30 Weeks?

My friend just had her baby tonight at 30 weeks via emergency c-section.  I don't know ANYTHING about premie births.  Is that bad or can it be OK?  Obviously she and her husband are busy (I found out about the birth via Twitter of all places!) so I don't know any details on their condition besides "Both doing good right now."

She JUST had her 30 week appt. this afternoon and everything was great.  I have no idea what happened between then and now.  I'm so beyond worried right now!

ETA: If it helps, I just got this info: 10 weeks early, 14.25" long, 2.25oz, breathing mostly on her own.

Re: Delivery at 30 Weeks?

• Options
    From what I understand baby will most likely be fine. Probably be in nicu for a little while. I'm no expert on things like this. But I do wish your friend and family all the best and hope everything is all right with both.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options

Based on the information it sounds like so far everything is okay. Are you close (distance) to this friend? If so maybe you can offer to help in some way (get things from their house, feed the dog/cat, prepare freezable meals).  HTH.

I hope everything continues to improve!
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    imagemimikat22:

Based on the information it sounds like so far everything is okay. Are you close (distance) to this friend? If so maybe you can offer to help in some way (get things from their house, feed the dog/cat, prepare freezable meals).  HTH.

I was going to head up there because I know everyone is gathering at the house with baby stuff to have set up for when they get there (she didn't even have her shower yet), but I actually had swine flu and it's still making its rounds in my household, so I'm keeping my distance for now.  But luckily I know there are TONS of people around to help out.  I just feel helpless being stuck here.  :(