Canada Babies
Options

Returning to work poll

I work in retail and am supposed to go back on Aug 17.  I haven't started looking for daycare for DS, but we would need availability Mon-Sat from 8:45 am to 9:30pm.  Close to impossible here.  We would likely end up with a daytime caregiver and an evening one.  We would be spending around $30 a day for him to be in care, which is 1/3 of my wage per day.  My other option would be to stay home and do an inhome daycare.  I would need 3-4 kids to make the wage that I would be making in my retail job.  What would you do?

[Poll]
Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers Lilypie Second Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: Returning to work poll

• Options

ugh, tough choice.  i am struggling with a similar choice.

3-4 kids on top of your own is a lot of kids.  i think you would be drained and that is a huge commitment.

nice to not have to work weekends/evenings anymore.

keep in mind when budgeting, it costs a lot to work!  think of the gas, clothes/shoes, money on lunches, dinner you end up buying because you are too tired/busy to make something. 

maybe there is another option?  can you work weekends or something and just do before/after school care plus casual stuff like if schools have a professional day etc?

• Options

You're right, finding daycare for those kind of hours is near impossible anywhere, and even if you did, it would end up costing a fortune.

Have you looked into signing on with a dayhome agency in order to strat your own dayhome.  This way you would be guaranteed to be able to start "working"  from home b/c the agency will fill the spots for you.

• Loading the player...
  • Options

Goldenprincess, yes I have started looking into a licensed daycare.  They would provide the kids, but take a cut of the pay.  But, they supply toys.