High-Risk Pregnancy
Options

Insulin Question

I can't get my GD under control at night while I am asleep (go figure).  My fasting blood sugar reading is always right around 105, and they want it under 95.  I am almost 8wks and the dietician is now talking about bedtime insulin.  I am nervous about doing this, but am afraid there is not another alternative.

So couple of questions for those of you on insulin.

1) What form does it come in?  A shot or a pill?
2) Did you notice any side effects after starting it?
3) Do you think they are premature at wanting to put me on it so early in my pregnancy when my reading is only 105?

Any advice is welcome.  I am new to pretty much everything.

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: Insulin Question

• Options
    Insulin comes in the form of shots.  I have never had any side effects (I have had type 1 diabetes for 4 years).  Are they wanting to start you on insulin right away?  At not even 8 weeks, it does seem kind of early, but it is better to get your blood glucose under control as soon as possible.  Do you have type 2?  I have heard of a lot of people with type 2 going on insulin shortly after getting pregnant.  Good luck.
  • Options
    No I don't have type 2.  Just tested and diagnosed early for GD.
    Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    Why did they test you early for GD?  I honestly didn't even know that they did that test so early in pregnancy.
  • Options