Babies: 9 - 12 Months
Options

Zoloft refill denied

I've been on Zoloft since mid-October after being diagnosed with PPD. I was out of refills, so called my ob's refill "hotline" and left a message at 9 am. I called my pharmacy to see if it had been refilled yet and the pharmacist told me that the refill had been denied and that there was a note for me to call my ob. Um, huh?

I've been on an anti-depressant and I'm supposed to do what? Go off cold turkey with absolutely no warning whatsoever? And I'm pretty sure my telephone number is in my file, so why I wasn't personally notified is beyond me. Needless to say I left a pretty pissy message with my doctor's office, and I'm hoping they call me back soon. Ugh, I'm sooo getting a new ob/gyn before I have my next kid.

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Zoloft refill denied

• Options

That's really strange! I used to be a pharacy tech and the only real reason's doctors would deny refills is if they were too early (like with controlled substances) or if the patient wasn't keeping appointments (usually this was with BCP's). I can't imagine they'd not at least call you in a weeks supply until they could talk to you.

You may want to call your phamacy and see if they can give you enough tablets to get you through until you can get a hold of the office. There is what is called a "good faith law" that allows pharmacists to do this in urgent situations, such as somebody not wanting to miss a dose of their antidepressants!

• Options
    Ya you dont want to go off anti-depressants cold turkey. If i forget one day, i get the worst headache and chest pains! I hope you get thru to your DR
    Expecting #3 next spring!
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    My pharmacy just gave me 4 pills of something else to get me through the weekend since my OB's office closes at noon on Friday and didn't call in the refill.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options