1st Trimester

How to deal with the unknown?

Hi all. This is my first time getting pregnant. We tried for about 3 months, and I am 33. I am barely pregnant: 4w 5d and over the moon.

Learning about how common MC is and the potential causes gives me a lot of anxiety. I know there is not a lot in my control and it feels so scary.

How do you deal with not knowing whether the pregnancy will continue? I'm having a hard time focusing on other things.

I know worrying will probably do more harm than good but there is such a long time to wait and it's stressful.

Thanks for listening --

Re: How to deal with the unknown?

• edited March 19
    Pregnancy brain is a real thing. Not just the forgetfulness but everything I do and think about is pregnancy based, even when it's not somehow I turn it back to pregnancy. It's been like that everytime for me. 
    I try not to voice it, because how long would that 10 months be for everyone? 🤣

Seeing the baby in the US or hearing the heartbeat are the best reassurances and it truly sucks waiting for them. 

I have had 1 miscarriage and 4 babies, currently pregnant with my 5th. Everytime I have that feeling it may not be, but I trust in our abilities as humans and the fact that I got pregnant in the first place as a great sign. Most everything will be out of your control, so focus on what you can control. Exercise, diet, vitamins, meditation, etc. A big part of pregnancy is mental. Focus on that. It will help for labor as well. 
    Congratulations! Hope you hear that beautiful heartbeat soon. 
  • Thanks, this is really touching and made me cry. I appreciate your insight so much 💜

I will try to stay positive and also take your advice. I hope I'll hear the heartbeat soon too
  • Loading the player...