1st Trimester
Options

low-dose aspirin prescribed in first trimester

edited February 5 in 1st Trimester
hi all! i'm 39 and five weeks pregnant. two previous miscarriages. at my pregnancy confirmation appt today, the doctor recommended i start taking 81mg of aspirin daily. other than my age, i have no other known risk factors for preeclampsia, so i was a bit surprised to hear the recommendation so early in my pregnancy. i'm feeling uncertain about what to do. any advice?

Re: low-dose aspirin prescribed in first trimester

• Options
    Let me preface, I am not a Doctor. I know speaking to many in the industry that aspirin was used substantially more post covid. Are you more than 12 weeks? Generally I don't think they put you on a daily dose until later nearly 2nd trimester and usually because of preclampsyia or symptoms of it.

I try not to even take tylenol. As of now they claim it is "OK" whilst pregnant. Medicine is evolving as they are always learning. Making me ever the skeptic. I stop any and all meds possible. Now that is just me. My doctors all think that's overkill, but you can't even eat some foods while pregnant. It just feels wrong. I'll take wicked morning sickness over meds to prevent or help it. Again, this is just my practice when pregnant. I do end up taking tums as my heartburn radiates through me when I'm pregnant. I never do when not pregnant. Again you have to do what's best for you.

I would definitely have a discussion with your OB about it. I am very vocal about minimal meds and interventions with my OB, if something is suggested, I know they have a definitive reason and we discuss the why. Maybe there is a good reason and it wasn't communicated? There are no stupid questions.
  • Options
    Thanks for your reply! I am only five weeks, which is why I was surprised, as I too had heard about it sometimes being used for preeclampsia but at 12 weeks.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options