May 2023 Moms
Options

Worried about baby’s development

My baby is 12 weeks old and I have been super anxious and worried about her social development since day 1. I’m a teacher and so I have worked with many children on the spectrum. I don’t mean any disrespect to any parent with a child on the spectrum , but my post partum anxiety seems to be fixated on my daughter being autistic and it has generated an unbearable amount of fear in me.

From day one, I was always overly focused on how much eye contact she makes. I feel like although she looks at us, it’s not enough. When she wakes up, I’m not always the first thing she looks at the way that babies smile at their parents. Even when she looks at me, she’ll look away right after or look up. She’s often focused on my mouth and that worries me too.

I spent many nights crying over her social smiling. She has started to smile but it is so inconsistent and lasts seconds. There are times when she smiles so big l when I walk over to her crib to pick her up and other times when she won’t even look my way. Sometimes I am trying so hard to get a smile but she looks stares or looks away. It breaks my heart.

Sometimes she will turn to my voice but often doesn’t. She is obsessed with looking at the black map on our wall and if I hold her when sitting in that area, the map is what she will always prefer to look at.

My mind is convinced that something is wrong and I am utterly heart broken. I love my baby so much but it feels like I’m mourning the child I envisioned. I feel awful saying that but it is what I feel. That my baby will never grow up to laugh with me, cuddle, show affection, make friends.

I’ve tried therapy, medication. Nothing works. The only time I feel ok is when she’s doing “normal” baby things. She’ll be so interactive and smiley for a few days then go back to worrying me. Idk if this is a me problem or if what I’m seeing is actually there. I really need some advice :(

Re: Worried about baby’s development