Health & Exercise

Hot yoga in 2nd trimester

So I’ve been doing hot yoga at minimum once per week for the past 3 years. It’s always a 60 minute class and the temp in the room is 100-104. I stopped doing yoga from about wk6 to wk 12 because I had HG (really severe morning sickness). But I’ve started taking classes again, I’m 16 weeks now. I modify certain postures from what I’ve read online and I take my temp before, during and after—whenever I hit 99, I start sweating and cool down. Temp has never gone over 99.1. Looking for other mom’s experiences with hot yoga during pregnancy. Doctor has said as long as my temp doesn’t go over 101.5 and I’m hydrated, since I’ve been doing it this long it is ok. But I definitely get some looks and my friends are all super skeptical. I even saw a blog post online relating hot yoga in pregnancy to as bad as smoking. And there really isn’t many studies done on seasoned yogis doing hot yoga in pregnancy. What have others experienced?

Re: Hot yoga in 2nd trimester

• Not sure why it’s worth the risk. Most yoga studios don’t permit pregnant women to do hot yoga and have specific prenatal classes. 

Clinical fever is anything 100.4 or greater and it is recommended pregnant women medicate to avoid/treat fevers. 101.5 seems sort of ridiculous to me as a permissible upper limit. 

Nobody is going to do a real study on hot yoga just like they don’t do many medication studies on pregnant women. It’s just not ethical/worth the risk. So yeah, unfortunately the data is lacking. 

All this to say I personally wouldn’t risk it. I don’t see any benefit over just doing regular yoga and real possible risk. I did prenatal yoga my first pregnancy and really enjoyed it, and wish I could do it now, but it exacerbates my pelvic pain. 
  • Since your reply doesn’t involve your experience with hot yoga during pregnancy, I’m really not sure why you even commented.