2nd Trimester
Options

Telling my boss..

Hi everyone! I am wondering if anyone has any experience accepting a new job and telling your boss about your pregnancy, I am seeking advice! Backstory: I work in a school and over the spring I was interviewing for a new position (did not even know I was pregnant at the time). Well, I was offered and accepted the job! I am working for the school for their summer program now, but the full time role does not technically start until the first day of school. I am 15 weeks not and will be about 22 when I officially start. I feel extremely anxious about telling my new boss. I feel like they may be disappointed that I will need to take leave a couple months after starting. Does anyone have any advice on telling a new boss this news? Is it totally inappropriate to break the news over email? (I do not see her much in person due to various locations). Any advice is appreciated, thank you ladies!

Re: Telling my boss..

• Options
    meggymemeggyme member
    edited July 2022
    Approach it as if you were a man, very matter of factly. “I am expecting a baby in *month* and will be out for X weeks/months. I will assist in preparing whatever plans are needed for my absence and I will return in *month*.” As for when, if there’s any chance of them reassigning your full time position I’d wait until you start that. You’ll feel large at 22 weeks but for a first baby will probably still be able to hide it a bit. Technically most companies don’t require notice until 30 days before your leave. When you have that conversation talk about whether they will keep your job for you when you get back. Having just started you likely will not qualify for FMLA.
    DD1: June '16 DD2: March ‘19 :::: Married since 2011 :::: USN Wife ::::
  • Options