November 2021 Moms
Options

GTKY 3/29 (Work)

marbelliemarbellie member
edited March 2021 in November 2021 Moms
What do you do for work*? Is it what you thought you would do or trained for?

*This of course includes the hard job of being a SAHM.

Re: GTKY 3/29 (Work)

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    mkp0903 said:
    I’m an ER doctor. I always wanted to be a doctor, except for a very brief time when I was 5 and wanted to be a vet. It’s all I’m trained to do, and I mostly love it (other than in Pandemic times). 

@sthlm_21 my degree is in biochemistry and molecular biology...obviously I don’t actually use it, but I enjoyed bench work in undergrad. 

@marbellie I’m curious as to why you might move to Canada (if it’s not prying). My husband works remotely for a Canadian company and we routinely toy with moving there, but I don’t know if I want to go through licensing stuff and learning how to work in a completely different system. 
    Not prying at all. My husband is from Quebec originally (moved to the States in middle school) and I'm an adventurer so we're kind of like "why not?". Especially now that we have a son and plan for more, the more European work and political culture up there is attractive (less hours for full time work, longer parental leave, more affordable housing market, affordable colleges, subsidized daycare, etc). 

Do you know what you would have to do to get licensed up there? Mine would include learning a whole new legal system (civil rather than criminal) and passing french language tests lol.... So I'm not doing it!
  • Options
    @doodleoodle in my imagination I toyed with the idea of becoming a school teacher just to not let my babies go lol. How long did the preschool teaching last for you?
  • Options
    marbellie said:
    @doodleoodle in my imagination I toyed with the idea of becoming a school teacher just to not let my babies go lol. How long did the preschool teaching last for you?