April 2021 Moms
Options

Pregnant Healthcare Worker - COVID

Hi All, 

I would love to hear from other pregnant healthcare workers and what they are doing the to protect themselves, how they're managing stress/anxiety related to COVID risk, and if you're still working or not!

I am a physical therapist working at large outpatient clinic in CA and I am continuing to work, but my OB and boss have agreed that I should wear an N95 mask, procedure mask, and face shield at all times given that I have to get within inches of my patients and they're not reliable at keeping their masks on (either it keeps sliding off or they're working out and cannot breath well and need to drink water, or other emergent situations). This has been really hard on me, I'm not even that big yet but I already notice that I can easily get short of breath and my heartburn/acid reflux is making me nauseous all over again like it's my first trimester. Wearing double masks and face shield on top of this makes it even harder, and it can be a struggle for me to find time to drink water or step away to get even a second break. The only time that I can take it off is when I'm eating lunch outside otherwise I have 4+ hours before and after lunch where I am wearing it at all times.

I honestly dread going to work now because of this and am a bit paranoid every time I am working with a patient who tells me they just flew somewhere or had a party last night or think this is all a hoax. I am strongly considering taking leave earlier because I am uncomfortable and tired, am I being over-dramatic? If I take leave early I won't get paid which is obviously not ideal.

Would love to hear anyone's thoughts.

Michelle

Re: Pregnant Healthcare Worker - COVID

• Options
    rexnierexnie member
    edited December 2020