Infertility
Options

Intro! Newbie on 2nd round of IUI

Hi there,

I found this forum after reading a humorous book called “The Underachieving Ovary” (fun suggestion if anyone likes to read!) I didn’t know these forums existed before. If anyone is just getting started, would love to follow along and support each other while going through the process. My sweet, best friend sister, and so many family friends, are preparing for their next baby additions, and not sure I can grit my teeth in a proper smile next time someone tells me, “if you just don’t think about it, it will happen!” I’ve decided I’d rather do the opposite and totally embrace the journey, especially since I’ve been doing this “just be patient” thing for 3 years... It is what it is, and I’ve always enjoyed immersing into “new worlds”, so let’s go!

Just turned 34, DH 44. Currently diagnosed with male factor (morphology); however, I’m a bit suspicious, wondering if there are other things involved. We are on TTC lucky month #37, with 2 early MCs within the first handful of months followed by BFNs repeatedly... Also diagnosed with PCOS in the past with abnormal FSH-LH levels, and it sounds like my mature AFC is on the low end, although RE claims it’s normal (after a slight hesitation pause...).

Currently on 2nd IUI + clomiphene citrate (Double the ante on round #2!) completed last Fri/Sat, so currently in another 2WW. This morning was my first time waking up to doubling-over stomach/pelvic pain, and I’ve had on-off hot flashes for ~7 weeks. Fun stuff!! At least the progesterone pills makes me feel slightly “fun“-loopy (ahem, high) :smile:.

Not too hopeful it’ll work out on this 2nd run, although I started getting excited after noticing a little spotting yesterday (too early, I know, but I’m here so thinking the world can produce strange things?). The next step In the treatment plan will be jumping into IVF. We shall see!