February 2020 Moms
Options

Prenatal testing - what's the point?

I would love to hear some of your thoughts on pre-natal testing. I'm a non-US resident, currently at 12 weeks. My pregnancy was a surprise - so the insurance that i have doesn't really measure up for my circumstances. I travel for work, so it covers me globally and for most health needs - but is going to max out at around 1000 dollars for appointments and 7000 for the actual birth. It's for this reason, I'm going to be travelling back to my home country a couple months before due date and just having my baby there, where it's free, and the quality of care is equally good. If there's any complications, the costs in the USA could reach 100k - maybe even more. 

My doctor here knows my circumstances - but there's so much grey area for testing. For example, testing for certain disorders, the only benefit is really just knowing in order to prepare yourself. Unless you first discuss, 'hey, if I found out this information and the results are negative, i'll terminate.' wouldn't it be better to have these things treated as optional?