March 2019 Moms
Options

Product spotlight: Diaper bags

Let's discuss diaper bags this week!

What do you have? What are you thinking about getting? What features are important to you? What features are useless? Questions?

Re: Product spotlight: Diaper bags

• Options
    FTM so no experience here. I registered for a backpack diaper bag because I have never been a fan of carrying around a large bag (my purse is the bare minimum size to hold my cards, cash, and keys). But since I've never done this before, I am open to hearing if there are any drawbacks to this plan.
  • Options
    meggymemeggyme member
    edited November 2018
    @mayoduck I keep a larger wallet that I transfer from bag to bag. I'm also a big fan of using smaller cosmetic bags to organize things and making it easier to move. I keep one for stuff for me (tampons, chapstick, sunscreen, etc.) one for diapers, wipes and hand sanitizer, one for restaurant toys for my toddler and one for snacks. It makes it easier to take stock of what I have and take it out if I'm headed out without a kid.

We used a messenger bag that MH insisted on at first. It worked out pretty well until I got sick of carrying such a masculine bag. I go for large purses with some kind of cross body strap now and organize it with the above system. A change pad, interior pockets, and zip top are essential to me. I also use a key hook so my keys don't get lost in the black hole.

I'm looking at getting the Madewell Zip Top Medium Transporter Carryall ( https://www.madewell.com/the-zip-top-transport-carryall-H2584.html?dwvar_H2584_co ) for Christmas with it being my main bag in mind. I looked at it yesterday in a store though and I'm a little dissatisfied with the quality. It seems kind of primitive in comparison to the Kate Spade bags I like to get. It just doesn't seem worth the price, so I might keep looking.