2nd born at 38+6 on 8/30/18 
Team green turned PINK!
Due with #3 on 6/6/20 Team Green

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Pregnancy Ticker

Re: UO Thursday 4/12

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    @jhjocelyn all natural would have killed me and my child most likely so I'm all for some medical interventions!
  • Options
    @jhjocelyn I agree with you in part (and don't feel like you were digging at me at all) I do totally support modern medicine, and while I am very much working towards a home birth, I don't desire an unassisted birth. If I was a midwife and my husband had some basic first responder skills, then maybe, but still probably not. 

But on the other hand, I do feel very strongly that the current OB/hospital/medical practices/hospital and/or insurance company policies tend to cause a lot of the issues women have giving birth spontaneously-that is vaginal, with no physical assistance during exit). I won't judge anyone that wants medical pain relief during labor and delivery, that's a personal decision. But I do see studies showing that the US has the highest rate of c section births plus the lowest mom and baby health records of a developed country. Some of that I know is due to handling a larger range of illnesses and conditions and trying to care for very very young preemie babies. But some is due to failure to help women adequately.

I am all for surgical intervention when it's mom's choice or need, but I feel there are policies in place (routinely not allowing moms to move around or eat and drink in labor, etc) that cause more baby distress, that lead to more interventions or surgeries. 

There's nothing wrong with a cesarean, but why has the rate climbed so much higher here than other countries, without the mortality rates going down?

But, I still want to have tests done during pregnancy, and have a midwife at home to help of deliver or tell me if things are not going well.
    1st born at 35+4 on 6/6/16
    Team green turned BLUE!