February 2018 Moms

Working or formerly working mamas! When to tell?

Hi there!

God I've been struggling with staying present at work. I just wanna daydream about this future LO! Some background, I'm a manager and am secretly planning to become a SAHM. I've been here 8 great years. I believe my job will be surprised bc that is not the norm here. I've been kinda burned out on my job for the past year but did not look elsewhere bc I knew we were planning this life change. My job has NO maternity leave or disability. I will be using 2 months of paid sick time during babytime. 

Some questions for you-
-when do you/did you tell your boss?
-when did you tell them you may not come back? (If that was your plan)
-how do you hide it until the time is right? 
-how do you focus knowing you're going to quit!? Ahh lol. 
-any additional considerations or advice?

thank you lovelies 

-M

Re: Working or formerly working mamas! When to tell?

• -When you want. Mine already knows and new early with my others as well bc I was super sick and I'm a teacher so not like I can run to the bathroom when I please. 
    -I waited until my fmla was nearly up on the off chance plans changed with my second. I will be going back after this one though. I suck at the SAHM thing. 
    -I didn't hide it. 
    -meh....you need the money or the insurance or both so you just do your job. 
    -legally work can't do anything bc you are pregnant so long as you are doing your job. So just do your job as you normally would and keep it moving. 
  • Chawk17Chawk17 member
    edited June 2017
    Well I'm a teacher so I will tell principal and HR when we go back at end of August. They have to find me a long term sub. I plan on working up to due date If possible and then returning in May.
    If it is twins DH will start looking for principal job ( he has admin certification but likes teaching for now) and I will be stahm. If it's a singleton we will both keep teaching and do daycare.