December 2017 Moms
Options

Hyperemesis moms

to My HG mom's -

I am so sorry you are going through that.. I can't imagine what it must be like for you just to get through the day.. I work in healthcare and here is what I know about each med in pregnancy
1) diclegis - used to be called bendectin pulled off the market for risk of birth defects.. Reintroduced as Diclegis in 2013-2015 and has been doing well.. Person who invented this sponsored the first studies looking for heart defects with zofran.. Works but usually only for milder causes usually not for n/v
2) zofran - been used for years with the only side effect tends to be constipation.. Studies about heart defects very conflicting and reviews and meta analysis have found it to be almost a neglible risk 
3) reglan used as a gastric motility agent for diabetics and others with that issue.. Works really well for nausea and has been linked with minimal side effects.. Some use this as an alternate to zofran to avoid this minimal risk the studies show and to avoid being sued 
4) compazine and phenergan these are both ones that people tend to use of the above don't work because they have side effects but plus side is they come in rectal suppositories as well... Can make you very sleepy 
6) scopalamine patch works extremely well not been associated with risks and works well for almost every HG person.. Problem is unless you have tried other things and failed or have really good insurance the insurance may deny it because it is very very expensive 
7) home health- there are home health services that will come by and give you iv fluids, draw labs and give iv zofran or reglan through a picc line.. For those who say they are losing 30 lbs or vomiting all day that may be a good alternative to