January 2018 Moms

Midwives

iluvgoldies33iluvgoldies33 member
edited May 2017 in January 2018 Moms
I am a FTM. I have my first consult with a midwife June 14 but have some potentially silly questions. I am a veterinarian so feel like I should have some awareness of this but I don't. 

If if I choose to have a midwife care for me during my pregnancy, how will I have ultrasounds done ? I'm assuming midwives don't do this. I still would want the standard scans including the anatomy scan. Also, DH is worried I won't have a doctor involved in my care at all. I told him as long as things are going well and I'm not high risk this is ok. 

Anyone have any insight for me if you have gone this route with a previous pregnancy ? The group I'm looking into does offer home births but also hospital births which is what I plan to do. 

Re: Midwives

• I haven't gone through it in a previous pregnancy, but have been doing a lot of research for this one. I had an orientation meeting with a local homebirth midwife and she said she said she can write prescriptions for ultrasounds. And I went to a clinic with OBs and midwifes and the person I saw was a midwife who did write a prescription for an US. There are third party radiology places who do ultrasounds, MRI's, etc. So, you just take your prescription there and they'll do it and send a report to the person who ordered the prescription. 

As far as not seeing an OB, I would agree with you in saying it's not a problem unless you become high risk. 

You can also watch the Business of Being Born on Netflix. That's what got me and DH really interested in a homebirth and using midwifes, although we still haven't fully decided what to do yet. 
  • hminer4hminer4 member