September 2017 Moms
Options

Those of you that work with young children

would you tell one of your coworkers that you're expecting incase there's a breakout that could effect your baby? Like fifths..... I know I'm not immune and it's the season for fifths breakouts and if we have a case in our class it'd be nice to know to stay away. WWYD? 

Re: Those of you that work with young children

• Options
    I probably would. I told my coworkers, just the other 1st grade teachers, because we're all close and I know if something were to go wrong I would tell them anyway. 

But, last time I was pregnant we had a huge breakout of hand, foot, and mouth and I was glad my pregnancy wasn't a huge secret. 
    Pregnancy Ticker
  • Options
    I'm an ER nurse and I let my coworkers know a little on the earlier side, because of this kind of stuff. There's really not much I can't be around but if those cases arise I let them know for sure. 

March 2016 Moms: January Siggy Challenge "Pregnancy Problems"
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I am currently 6 weeks and may let my grade-level team and possibly my principal know a little early if the need arises and something comes up, but I would like to wait until at least after my first appointment at the end of the month.
  • Options
    To extend off of that... I never get the flu shot.  I'm not against vaccinations, just a little weary of the flu shots effectiveness & side-effects. Now I am more worried about catching the flu, for obvious reasons.  Any thoughts?
  • Options
    To extend off of that... I never get the flu shot.  I'm not against vaccinations, just a little weary of the flu shots effectiveness & side-effects. Now I am more worried about catching the flu, for obvious reasons.  Any thoughts?
    I mean.. seeing as how the flu can kill you and your baby.. I would get it. A sore arm for a day is nothing compared to being hospitalized for a terrible flu.

From the American Pregnancy Associations website: